Ashwin in India’s Champions Trophy squad

Such drastic action was ruled out at a special general meeting in Delhi on Sunday, leaving the selectors to proceed with the business of putting together a 15-man squad to defend the title they won at Edgbaston in 2013. However, Rohit Sharma will make his comeback to global cricket after being out of action due to thigh injury he had sustained in November 2016. “Not just IPL but one needs to take into account the performance of last one year also in such a big tournament”, Prasad said.

Ajinkya Rahane: Rahane has been selected as the other opening option for the tournament.

Yuvraj Singh is included in the squad led by Virat Kohli, as is star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who has recently been struggling with a hernia.

“Ashwin’s injury was not serious and we wanted to give him a break”. He has been a regular opener for India in the last 12 months. “That shows he is fit and not like others who are getting rehabilitated after surgery”, Prasad said.

The selectors only picked two specialist spinners in Ashwin and Jadeja, while looking to utilise the part-time spin of Yuvraj during the middle overs.

Pacer Mohammed Shami has made a comeback in the team after playing his last ODI in March 2015.

Manish Pandey and Mohammad Shami have also been successful to make it to the 15-member squad for the Champions Trophy which will be played in England.

Prasad further added: “Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya are youngsters we’ve been grooming”.

“When it comes to crunch situation, his input. We’re extremely pleased with Rishabh Pant, will groom him too”. It reverses a much-criticised ICC decision in 2014 to relinquish more control to Australia, England and India, the world’s most powerful cricketing boards.

Dhawan on Monday celebrated his inclusion in the Champions Trophy squad with a match-winning fifty for Sunrisers Hyderabad against Mumbai Indians at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal.

India will start their Champions Trophy campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *